Kombucha!

Posted: May 18, 2010 in Uncategorized

Hey yall! In this fine spring season I am brewing up some great things.

I have known about Kombucha for a while now. Kombucha is a drink that is made by allowing a “kombucha mother”/ “SCOBY”(symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast)  to reproduce in a mixture of tea, sugar and pre-existing Kombucha. The SCOBY is a gross looking thing. It is is exactly what it says it is, bacteria and yeast. It looks like a fleshy disc shaped mushroom. So as the SCOBY consumes the sugar it ferments the tea, lowering the pH. This drink is very good for you. It contains antioxidants and probiotics. The taste of the Kombucha is one that you must get used to. It is fairly acidic, think vinegar. I am going to teach myself to love it! It has boosted me many times when I was feeling sick or even tired. And I’m sure you’ve guessed it by now…I’m brewing some right now. I started it on the 14th of May and it will be ready around the 20th. So far it is looking how it’s supposed to. The SCOBY is indeed consuming the sugars and is starting to reproduce. So if I’m successful I will have a Kombucha mother to share in a few days if anyone’s interested!  I’ll let you know how it goes. I will simply need to check the pH and determine if it is around 3, then bottle, separate the SCOBY’S and enjoy! Then I can keep making batch after batch!

Leave a comment